Ballpark Brawl

So the Dodgers have now been involved in two of the fiercest brawls this season.

Here’s the thing I don’t understand. It’s a sport. In sports, sportsmanship should be regarded as the highest virtue. And yet baseball players behave like a bunch of spoiled brats. Or should I say, like a bunch of thugs? You wanna fight? Go pick up some gloves and join a boxing gym or a karate dojo.

This is frustrating and sick. I’m just tired of watching grown up men brawl in a sporting ground. And not only that, they do it on the field. I’m sick of hockey players behaving like drunkards and I’m sick of baseball players acting like hoodlums. Sorry to say this, but you’ve picked the wrong sport…

…is what I’d like to say, but it seems that people come out to the games because they are eagerly anticipating stuff like what happened between the Dodgers and the Diamondbacks or the Dodgers and the Padres.

See, here’s the thing why I like Japanese baseball. Cause brawls are rare. Very rare. They just don’t seem to happen. I especially like the approach in high school baseball. I have seen numerous batters being hit during the Koshien tournament. And every time the pitcher tipped his cap to apologize to the batter. Which is – let’s face it – sportmanlike. And a lot more grown up than those brats in the majors.

The suspensions following the L.A.-Arizona brawl are fine, but in my mind they need to be a lot steeper. Suspend the players (and coaches) for, say, 50 games. Hurt them. Hurt the team. Show them it’s not acceptable. (Don’t get me started on athletes as role models). This insanity has to stop.

But it won’t, I guess…

Leave a Reply

